Programmer

Brady

国籍:UK

年齢:25

入社:2020.07

学生時代はどこで過ごしたのですか?

I grew up in a smaller farmers' village on the outskirts of Shropshire. As soon as I hit 18 years old, packed up and moved to the second biggest city in Britain (Birmingham) for University and went on to spend 4 years there. Though not the entirety of my experience was based in Birmingham, I was lucky enough to experience living in Vienna (Austria) and Singapore as an exchange student and Japan for a summer programme. Such experiences fed me the confidence that led to making that big step to live abroad again in the future.

学生時代はどんなことをやってきたのですか?

I was very much someone who tried many things, but never stuck to one thing. I went from my first year being a social butterfly, meeting as many people as physically possible (also slightly out of fear of the homesickness creeping up on me), who then transformed into someone actively involved in clubs and societies (in which I went skiing in the French Alps and participated in several cheerleading performances). By final year, with the realisation that it was nearing an end of an era, I found my feet a little more and discovered a way to have a healthy balance between work and play.

今までの職務経歴

My work experience is extremely varied, and half of it is volunteer work:
I used to work for a mental health charity. I then worked a paid job at a clothing store until one day I came across a seminar about working in Japan as a teacher that was taking place in Birmingham. This had a particularly 'destiny' ring to it since I had this as my dream but had pushed it to the back of my mind, so I went and found myself on a plane to Japan only a few months later.

普段どんな業務をやっていますか?

I've been here at Evolany about a week, but I've already learned many things and have contributed to the new website landing page! I wonder what's in store for me next.

一日の業務はどのように過ごしていますか?

First thing is check my tasks and to see if I have any meetings. My days vary, I spend a lot of time doing front end work but also dabble in the back end with databases and such.

業務の中でやりがいを感じる瞬間をいくつ教えてください

I would say the most rewarding aspect for me is the creativity, having the opportunity to build something beautiful at my fingertips. Alongside this, working with people who are keen to build their skills and better themselves continuously. Whether that be improving their knowledge in a programming language or improving at drinking a can of beer within short time-frame. (Cue canned laughter).

業務の中で過去の自分と比べると成長を感じる瞬間

Coding taught me to never give up if something doesn't go as planned.

これからのチャレンジしたい業務領域や展望

I would love to one day build my own app, that I built alone - which can help someone in some way - as throughout my life I've carried the desire to help others. I hope I can one day gain the skills to create an app that can help someone, in some way.

EVOLANYの好きなところを教えてください

Their "give people a chance" and "individual personality over hard skills" are truly one of the largest aspects I respect, alongside diversity and supportive work environment.

週末の過ごし方や趣味を教えてください

I absolutely love second hand clothes shopping and finding hidden gems and like to keep ontop of my Japanese and Korean language skills. On the high end of tired, I like to escape the real world with a korean drama or movie (Korea makes outstanding TV, as we saw from Parasite).

これから入ってくるメンバーへ、「こんな感じな人と一緒に働きたい!」のような人物像を教えてください

I thoroughly enjoy working with those who are supportive, warm - and people who understand that laughter truly is medicine!

OTHER MEMBER